The Journey To 130 Thoughts About Weightloss

Standard

The Journey To 130 is a continuation in a path of weight loss and lifestyle change. So far I have lost 55lbs, now I am at my last ten pounds and at this point, to lose more I will need to reexamine my food intake as well as the energy I will need to expend to make this happen. The following is what I have learned.

Every person has an opinion of a diet. I would take their ideas into consideration; I tried many of them and some I have incorporated into my life. Other times I would just shake my head. No, drinking lemon water and maple syrup does not make you lose weight permanently, plus I love food! Bariatric surgery! I am not that overweight, even then you need to look at the psychology of weight loss. Here are some of my experiences.

The Atkins Diet. Yes I lost weight, then I suffered from the worst constipation I had ever had in my life. There is a reason for carbohydrates and fiber.

Raw Food, saving all of the nutrients in food by not cooking it out. I love food, it is my passion, this would be like telling a ballerina to stop wearing toe shoes and take up jazz. The food is high in calories as nuts are used, so portion control is important. I calculated the lasagna portion to be about 1,100 calories, the raw food chef pointed out you eat smaller portions. I would rather have a small portion of the real thing and eat more salad. I have incorporated many of the recipes in my diet and enjoy the new tastes and twists one can put on food.

Low calorie and fat free. In the 80’s I tried the Weight Watcher Quick Start Program, if I remember rightly it was about 900 a day, and virtually fat free. Yes, I lost weight, and I gained all of the weight back and then some. When I began the latest journey I found when I cut my calories to 1,200 my body held onto the weight! It was explained to me that it is a starvation mode, and your body will hold onto everything you eat. It was the greatest miracle when I increased my caloric intake and went to 1,800 and I was exercising and I began to lose weight.

Dieters Tea, now this sounded like a great idea, drink tea and lose weight! Well the next morning it started a running program for me! Yes, running to the bathroom with stomach cramps and diarrhea. The magic ingredient is senna and long term laxative use will cause your bowels to shut down.

I recently found this blog in my “to finish” file and I wrote it almost a year ago. I am happy to report I have retained my weight loss. The bottom line to successful weight loss; eat healthy, eat a variety of foods, eat dessert, eat smaller portions, exercise, most importantly, do everything in moderation, that is how to lose weight.

2 responses »

  1. Loved the way you ended it “do everything in moderation, that is how to lose weight” – A very sane thing to do and a very sustainable way to lose weight.

    Last ten to go. Must be an amazing feeling. All the best for the finish line and I know you are not just achieving the right goals but also the right way.

  2. The last ten have stuck on me. This will be the year of Mindful eating, and I am not sure how to stop the late night eating, perhaps going to bed earlier! I hope you will post some more gluten free foods!

Leave a Reply

